Weekend Breakfast’s…A Little Something Decadent

Hello everyone, happy Monday!

I hope you all had a great weekend!

I’ve been experimenting with a lot of new recipe concept lately and here’s a new one, that I came up with. It’s a reworking of an old recipe that my nana use to make for me. I use to love to have it on weekends or whenever I had a chance to see her!

Her recipe was Honey Banana Peanut Butter pancakes with Milk Chocolate kisses topped with Maple Syrup. I found myself inspired to use all the same components but we work them, in a more unique and innovative way. So, trusting my own artistic sensibilities I went forth and here was they turned out.

 

“Honey Banana pancakes topped w/ Dark Chocolate chips + Peanut Butter syrup”

 

Ingredients:

2 c. All purpose flour
1 tbsp. sugar
1/4 c. Clover honey
2 1/4 tsp. Baking powder
1/2 tsp. Baking soda
1/2 tsp. Sea salt
2 eggs (at room temp. is best)
2 c. Whole Milk
1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
1/4 c. Unsalted melted butter
2 med. Bananas sliced

Instructions:

In a med. bowl measure and combine all the dry ingredients. Mix well using a whisk. Set aside.

Over medium-low heat, in a small pan melt the butter. Set aside to cool for at least 5minutes.

In a large bowl whisk together, the milk, melted butter and eggs until smoothly combine. In two parts mix the dry ingredients into the wet. Mix until small lumps are visible.

Grease a griddle pan w/ butter or coconut oil . Then, over med. high heat, drop about 1/3 c. of batter. After, pouring the batter onto the griddle place 4-6 banana slices per pancake. Cook until air bubbles appear or for 2-3mins on each side.

Peanut Butter Syrup

Ingredients:

1/2 c. Smooth Peanut Butter
1/2 c. Maple Syrup
1 tbsp. warm Water
1/8 tsp. Sea Salt
1 tsp. Unsalted butter

Instructions:

In a small sauce pan, add the maple syrup, salt + peanut butter. Place over low heat. Use a whisk to combine and smooth the mix, about 3mins. Remove from heat, whisk in warm water + butter, to thin the consistency and pour in a small pourable container. Drizzle atop the pancakes and top with dark chocolate pieces, ENJOY!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

And for my little niece…”Mickey Mouse Ears” as she calls them!

Image

Top with some Dark Chocolate chips…which also happen to be her favorite!

ImageImageImage

Now, I am strong believer in the 80/20 rule. For those of you who don’t know what the is it’s 80% conscience + healthy living and 20% just living life as it comes and indulging in the infinite possiblilities and seeking the beauty. But, I never lose sight of the fact I am a Type 1 diabetic and so I should take care of myself and my diabetes, because if I don’t I can’t enjoy the most basic thing I am so passionate about…LIFE. So, as I was enjoying me 20% by eating these decadent pancakes, I was conscience of my medical limitations and only had one…which was more than enough!

ImageImage

Really hope you all enjoy this post and PLEASE leave a comment if you guys tried the recipe. Let me know how you like them and who you shared them with!

P E A C E + L O V E + B A K I N G

Leave a Reply

