My Blueberry Almond Coconut Quinoa-Meal Drizzled w/ Honey

Hey guys! I hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

I wanted to start my week off right, with me that means nutritiousing my body with healthy and delicious food!

So, today I woke up and it was a rainy. I didn’t have classes so of course what I do with some free time…cook. I thoroughly enjoyed recipe writing. I had recently been inspired by recipes for oatmeal, but I eat a predominately gluten-free diet. My mother has Celiacs and I have gluten-intolerence. I decided, although oatmeal is a great breakfast, I’ll substitute quinoa. Quinoa is “the” power food, it’s high in protein, takes on whatever flavor you choose and a complete ‘plant’ protein (making it Vegetarian + Vegan friendly) So, I did what I so often do, cook first, recipe write later! 

Here’s how it turned out…
Blueberry Almond Coconut Quinoa-Meal w/ Honey Drizzle

Ingredients: serves 2-3 
1 c. Yellow or Red Quinoa
2 c. Pure Silk “Original” Coconut milk
1/8 tsp. Sea Salt
1/4 tsp. Cinnamon
1-2 tbsp. Clover Honey (depending on how sweet you like it)
1/2 c. Fresh Blueberries
1/4 c. Flaked Coconut
1 tbsp. Sliced Almonds
(+) 1 tsp. additional Clover Honey to drizzle atop.
Instructions:
Thoroughly, rinse the quinoa. Place the coconut milk in a small sauce pan, then bring to a soft boil, over med. high heat. Once the edges of the pot have small bubbles, pour in the quinoa. Stir in the quinoa, reduce heat to LOW, at a simmer and cover and cook for 15-18mins. Look for a smooth and creamy consistancy. Once completed, remove from heat, allow to stand for 5mins. Drop in tablespoon honey, stir in well.
Place in a bowl, top with coconuts flakes, blueberries and sliced almonds. Finally, lightly drizzle atop with 1 tsp. honey. Serve and enjoy!
ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
A little spice.
ImageImageImageImage
All done. Now just stir in some…oh, so sweet honey!
ImageImageImageImage
Drizzled goodness!
ImageImageImage
And of course, I needed my favorite coffee. I like dark roast coffee w/ Non-fat milk…that is all.
Please let me know what you guys think and share with your friends and family!
P E A C E + L O V E + B A K I N G

 

4 thoughts on “My Blueberry Almond Coconut Quinoa-Meal Drizzled w/ Honey

Leave a Reply

