Weekend Adventures: Out and About in Georgetown + Sunday Errands for WinniE’s Bakery

 

Hey guys, happy Wednesday!

This weekend I wanted to keep things simple, but always looking for a little fun. I’m 24 years old, which means no matter how fortunate may or may not be, money is always something I am conscience of. I’ve always been told I was 3 going on 30, an old soul, wise before my time, etc. I have a deeply nostalgic spirit, as grateful as I am for the modern conveniences of today (hint…the iPhone I am using to write this post) I love learning and seeing how things were before, getting a sense of where it all comes from. Now, to tell you about my weekend without getting too sidetracked…I do that sometimes, get lost in my head, take a walkabout in my thoughts. Anyway, this weekend I decided to take a trip to Georgetown, and the result was utterly lovely.

On Saturday: The first stop was the Washington National Cathedral’s 75th “Flower Mart” celebration, which hosted all kinds of wonderful vendors! Then off to walk around Historic Georgetown. We saw the canals, great boutiques, good coffee…very important, visited 2 famous cupcake bakeries or cupcakeries…whatever you want to call them. The last stop was SWEETGREEN! Ohh, how I love SweetGreen!

On Sunday: I started my morning with a little reading, then it was off to my standing morning coffee date with the old “Padre”. Then, I reviewed inventory and discovered I was short some basics. Although, I usually receive my boxes and such via an online company, this weekend my shipment wouldn’t be here for a large order I have, for “Nurse’s Week”!

Here’s a look…

Saturday:

 

Flower Mart:

ImageImageImage

That clothing was made of 100% Alpaca

ImageImageImage

This is Alex and he worked the “Dress It Up Dressing” booth. He was a charismatic and pleasant individual. I had a chance to sample the product and it was delightful and unique. You can find Dress It Up Dressing at MOM (My Organic Food Market) or www.dressitupdressing.com

Image

 

This is Maria and her mother Andrea. Andrea is the owner and designer of Andrea’s Beau and Maria is her inspiration. They sell handcrafted, beautifully designed and original head ornaments. My dad bought my niece a head band, which was decorated with crocheted floral accents and delicate little butterflies. It was the perfect choice for her and she LOVED IT! Check out, http://www.andreasbeau.com!

 

ImageImageImageImageImage

 Lastly, this is Michael. He owns Booda Boutique and they make handmade soaps, which smell EVEN better than Lush! He was so nice and told us all about the Eastern Market, where they also have a booth. You can find out more at their website www.boodasoapbox.com.

ImageImageImage

Historic Georgetown:

ImageImageImage

This duck was something else, it was ducking (LOL), shimmying and full on twirling.

ImageImage

A cute pathway of steps…it’s the little things!

ImageImage

I thought this restuarant what too adorable, quaint and really well decorated!

ImageImageImageImageImage

Who doesn’t like a reminder of a some-what contrived, yet lovey “Romantic Comedy”. I mean, honestly who cares…it’s Kate Beckinasle!!!

Image

We stopped by Sprinkles..didn’t get anything, but it looked nice. Do you see what I see…?

ImageImageImageImage

More canal…

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

KITCHEN STUFF!!!

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

Dean + Deluca, I bid you farewell. You were fabulous and I shall see you soon!

ImageImage

And then there was Georgetown Cupcakes, aka…DC Cupcakes. Also, take a look at that line.

ImageImageImageImageImage

As the sun went down we headed over to Labyrith Park.

ImageImageImageImage

Cady’s Alley: This little gem was hidden away.

Image

The most delightful little SweetGreen you will ever come across. It was a certified “green restaurant”! There is Padre…again (LOL)

Image

Goodnight and goodbye, Georgetown! Let’s do this again soon and next time, maybe a drink at one of your several pubs!

ImageImage

And this is Jermaine. He was honestly one of the coolest people I have ever encountered, so laid-back, so chill!

Image

I got the “Spicy Sabzi” salad…DELISH! I substituted garbanzo beans for the Tofu.

Sunday:

ImageImage

The essentials!

ImageImage

Stocking up!

ImageImageImage

Michael’s always brings back memories of my nana, Winnie, clear as day. Now off to JoAnn’s!

ImageImage

One of my many “happy places”!

I hope you guys like the post, I know I like sharing things with you!

P.S.: So sorry this took so long to post, it was meant for Monday. You would not believe the technical difficulties I dealt with. Anyway, see you tomorrow for a look at how things were today here at WinniE’s Bakery.

P E A C E + L O V E + B A K I N G

E

Leave a Reply

